• Professional of the Year Award, the highest honor given by the state association, recognizes members who have made outstanding achievements in family and consumer sciences; made significant contributions to the profession; and demonstrated sustained leadership and active involvement at the local, state and national levels as a longtime member of the profession. Eligibility: Actively employed in a family and consumer sciences related profession; or a current family and consumer sciences professional in home and community; or retired; consistent membership in AAFCS for 20 years or more.
  • New Achievers Award recognizes emerging professionals who have exhibited the potential to make significant contributions to family and consumer sciences. Eligibility: Any AAFCS member who does not belong to the Student Unit, who has earned a family and consumer sciences degree, and who has completed three (3) to eight (8) years of service to the field is eligible to receive this award.
  • Student Unit Award recognizes the pre-professional/graduate student who excels in academics; service to school and community; and leadership ability. Eligibility: Undergraduate or graduate Family and Consumer Sciences major who is a member of NCAFCS at the time of the nomination..
  • Leader of the Year Award recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the family and consumer sciences profession through their involvement with AAFCS. Eligibility: Any AAFCS member who does not belong to the Student Unit and who has completed more than eight (8) years of service to the field
  •  Teacher of the Year Award recognizes exemplary FCS teachers who utilize cutting-edge methods, techniques, and activities to provide the stimulus for and give visibility to family and consumer sciences elementary and secondary education. Eligibility: Employed as a full time, permanent family and consumer sciences teacher in grades kindergarten through 12 (K-12), or full time permanent FCS Teacher who has retired within twelve months of the nomination; three current consecutive years of active membership in NCAFCS including the year of the nomination; created and runs a FCS program that exhibits creativity, innovation, and cutting-edge techniques and alignment with State or FCS National Standards focused on an original, expanded, or substantially modified traditional FCS content area, OR, a teaching emphasis consistently embedded in the nominee’s curriculum, i.e. service learning, technology, project based learning, STEM, communications. Recipients are eligible to compete at the national level.
  • Augusta White Memorial Scholarship Fund is a memorial scholarship that was established to assist undergraduate students majoring in the areas of Family and Consumer Sciences. The amount of the scholarship for 2014 is $200.00.



Katherine B. Lyons endowment

Established in 1986 to honor Katherine B. Lyons, the Executive Secretary of the North Carolina Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (NCAFCS) from 1977 to 1987, the endowment provides a source of income to promote the objective of the NCAFCS . . . improving individual and family life across North Carolina.
Katherine retired from a career as Home Economics Consultant for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Her untiring efforts, selfless commitment and ardent dedication exhibited her belief that “the greatest joy in life is to return more than you receive.”
In 2005, the NCAFCS Katherine B. Lyons Fund became an endowment in the North Carolina Family and Consumer Sciences Foundation, an entity in the North Carolina Agricultural Foundation, Inc., at North Carolina State University.
All contributions are tax deductible and will be acknowledged with an official receipt from Family and Consumer Sciences Foundation. Honorees will be notified.
Please consider a gift today to help us strengthen the families of North Carolina. They are our future. Let’s make sure they are equipped for what they face. With your help, they will be.
For more information on this endowment, and on the programs of the NCAFCS, please contact:
c/o North Carolina Family and Consumer Sciences Foundation
NC State Box 7645
Raleigh, NC 27695
919.515.5274 (fax)
Funds are available in 2015 for the Katherine B. Lyons Grant. To apply for the grant, click on the link for the application forms. KBL Grant Application Packet Rev. 2015


North Carolina Affiliate - American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences © 2014 Frontier Theme